Cover Letter Draft

Dear Portfolio Reader,

It is my honor to take WRT102 in Lucenko’s class this semester. I have learned a lot of writing skills from her class. In this effective class, I have learn to how to analyze texts by identifying rhetorical strategies, the audience, the author’s purpose and the evidence which supports the author’s claim, how to compare two articles, and how to conduct research by properly citing sources and providing credible evidence. Both my  analysis skill and writing skill have made great progress.

In my rhetorical analysis essay. I learned the knowledge about rhetorical situation and realized that  interpreting an article is to know not only the main idea of the article, but also the writer’s method. For example, in order to closely examine Sagan’s essay, I not only summarized and paraphrased the content to point out his main idea, but also provided an interpretation of the text and explaining how the author use pathos,logos, and ethos to built his persuasive argument, and why he uses these particular strategies to persuade the audience.

In my comparative analysis. I learned how to explore and discuss the similarities and difference between two articles by analyzing their themes and method. For example. I compared “Man Discovers a New Life-Form at a African Trunk Stop” and “Saving Ethiopia’s Church Forests”. First of all, I indicated out they had similar approaches on topic but different use of appeals. Then I used point by point structure to analyze each article by providing ample textual evidence and my critical interpretation.

In my researched paper, I learned how to develop an convinced paper by providing credible and supporting evidence. First, I defined key issue for my argument, and then I provided some background information. Next I used various evidence such expert quote , statistic, and examples which I researched from news, journal article and magazine for supporting my thesis. Then, I considered the opposing position and refute it. Finally, I concluded my idea and provide possible solution.

By taking this class, I see my potential to write. Before taking this class, I was afraid of wring due to my poor writing skill and weak language. Writing more than 5 page essay was nightmare to me. However, this class helped me develop my ability to read, think and write critically. Through this semester, I have gained not only confidence to write, but also pleasure to enjoy. I am very proud of  myself  because I have conducted college level analysis and writing.

Sincerely,

YingShi

Leave a comment