Cover Letter Draft

Dear Portfolio Reader,

It has been a pleasure to take WRT 102 with Professor Lucenko, who helped me to get familiar with a second language and learn to be a writer. I did not take WRT 101, so this is technically the first writing class I have ever had in the U.S. Due to the difference between Chinese and English, learning to write effectively in English is not a easy thing for me. I am glad that I chose this class and such a nice Professor.

In the first essay, rhetorical analysis, I learned how to analyse a writer’s motives and it expanded my knowledge of the Aristotelian appeals. I have never written such detailed analysis before, and it helped me to build a language sense of English. I also learned to use examples and explanations properly in my own essay. In the second essay, comparative analysis, I got to know how to really look into two different essays and find out their differences and  things in common. I have developed the ability to target on certain audience and write purposive. In the third essay, researched argument, which is my favorite, I mastered the ability of performing research based on credible sources, integrate information and interpret them in my own perspectives. It is definitely a life-long benefit for me, which may help me over years after.

Leave a comment